Let’s Have our Cake and Bake it, too

As I said from the beginning, the Planologie blog is an experiment. I don’t know exactly where it will lead or what sort of twists and turns are in store, but since the blog is nearing the ripe old age of 12 weeks I thought it time to take stock. So, here are the stats thus far:

27 posts.
16 articles written by me.
3 “partner” blogs.
Over 1000 visits.
Zero submissions.

Hmm. Gotta work on that last one. Remember, kids, there are no stupid questions. Likewise, there are no stupid ideas for submissions. This isn’t a vanity project; the point is to get the conversation started, to bring as many voices to the table as possible. Bring me your photos, your tirades, your dreams, your journeys, your questions, your criticisms, your observations, your ideas…think of Planologie as a sort of Ellis Island for notes on world-shaping. Don’t be shy, step right up.

I’ve also discovered that writing anything worth reading takes time, so I’m formalizing the blog’s structure just a tad. Once a week I’ll (hopefully) post an article of my own. Once a week I’ll post a photo that tells a story (A Thousand Words). The other five days of the week will feature a mix of submissions, solicited articles, reposts from “partner” blogs (more on this soon), and links to outside articles or other bits of interest introduced with a bit of commentary. This way my load becomes a little lighter and other voices become a little louder.

Ah, I almost forgot. To everyone who has visited the site, posted a comment, or emailed a suggestion: Thank You! I’m greatly encouraged by the moderate success of Planologie’s first 12 weeks. I’ll report back in March with a statistical update on the next 12 weeks.

I know there are lots of you out there with something to say, and I hope more of you will take this opportunity to speak up. With all sorts of tipping points looming, the reshaping of civilization is likely to be the defining process of the next century. This isn’t hyperbole. It’s the inevitable reaction to demand exceeding supply. And it begins with examination, with conversation, with community. So make yourselves heard.

Josh

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

